Merlin, tacking the top batten

General chat about boats
Michael4

Merlin, tacking the top batten

Post by Michael4 »

I am really no expert and seek advice!

We have real bother trying to tack the top batten of our Merlin in light winds.

Merlin 950, original Proctor mast and boom, simple Cunningham, drum kicker, keel stepped, transom sheet.
The mainsail we are now using is a 2003 (well modern!) Jeckells loose footed job. I have a clew slider and outhaul etc. Top batten is quite stiff. (Jib is 2013 Hyde (just yesterday), no hanks so jib halyard currently set quite tight)

What is the trick or more to the point what combination of yanking, shaking and heaving creates the desired effect? I've fiddled with the tension of the top batten to little effect.

Any suggestions much appreciated, the original flappy sails from '59 don't have this problem but then their performance into the wind now sadly leaves something to be desired!

Michael
Tideway 206
11+
Sold the 'Something bigger and plastic', it never got used.
roger

Re: Merlin, tacking the top batten

Post by roger »

A well timed roll tack and pull on the mainsheet usually helps and reduce the batten tension in light winds.
Hornet 191 Shoestring,
Hornet 595 Demon awaiting restoration
Hornet 610 Final Fling
Hornet 353
realnutter

Post by realnutter »

Try centre sheeting... gives you the possibility of grabbing the sheet at the boom, and cracking the sail across...
Matt

Int Moth K2992
PeterV

Post by PeterV »

Try experimenting with kicker tension too. I found a bit of kicker always helped the top batten go over on my Lark.
PeterV
Finn K197 & GBR564
Warsash
Rupert

Post by Rupert »

Cunningham tension will also pop the batten.
Rupert
SoggyBadger

Post by SoggyBadger »