Frensham Pond 2006

Frensham Pond Sailing Club, Surrey  
July 15th and 16th 2006
Hot sun and good breezes made a perfect setting for the most colourful event of Frenham Pond Sailing Club’s summer season. A festival of vintage sailing dinghies took to the water for a four race series over the weekend 15th – 16th July. The scene, almost a time-warp, brought back memories of how the water looked in the early days of the sailing club, when boats were wooden, as were their masts, with sails made of fine Egyptian cotton. The event run jointly by Frensham and the Classic and Vintage Dinghy Association attracted twenty three entries of whom twenty took to the water

The oldest boat, Merlin Class No 6, built in 1946 is an early example of the type of craft from which the modern racing boat has evolved. Also taking part were vintage National Twelve dinghies; the class raced at Frensham for ten years from the club’s foundation in 1953. Racing took place in a relaxed manner with results computed around a handicap system, based on the yardstick of the individual boat when it was built. This resulted in a clear series win for Rupert Whelan, sailing the smallest boat in the fleet, a plywood British Moth; a design familiar to Frensham in the 1950s.

Other designs included a New Zealand Cherub class, as well as old favourites still raced such as the 1950s Enterprise.
Examples ashore on show included: an International Fourteen dinghy and most exotic of all a Ten Square Metre sailing canoe.

Frensham club commodore, Nick Royce, thanked all visitors who had travelled from near and far and paid special tribute to former commodore, Charles Smith who organised the event and did the complicated mathematics to arrive at the results.

Results on corrected handicap.

1st: Rupert Whelan – British Moth 718 – Whitefriars SC.
2nd: National 12 – 2487 – Paul Turner – Trent Valley SC.
3rd, OK 1211 – Alan Price – Hayling Ferry SC.
4th Merlin-Rocket 1066 – Tim Bury – Banbury SC.
5th Merlin – No 6 – Chris Barlow – Shearwater SC.
6th Merlin Rocket 799 Mervyn Allen Ranelagh SC
7th Merlin Rocket 2121 Sandy Lavelle Shearwater
8th Merlin 36 J & L.Gardiner Shearwater
9th Merlin Rocket 2529 B Marshall Minima
10th National 12 2501 C Dimmick Minima
11th Cherub 1982 J Champ Island Barn
12th Merlin Rocket 685 D Lockwood

Other entrants
British Moth 644 M Collyer Chippenham
Finn 129 N Witt Roadford
National 12 2107 K Ferguson Frensham
International 14 839 N Clibborn Frensham
Merlin Rocket 2081 Brooke-Jones Portsmouth
Albacore 135 A Richardson Emsworth
Enterprise 18555 M Cropper Frensham
Enterprise 19510 R Carter Frensham