The Classic and Vintage Dinghy Association arrived at Netley Sailing Club to scorching sunshine and a light South Easterly breeze. After a well contested first start, it was the OKs though of Dave Rollinson and Stu Budden, that took the early lead which they held through to the finish, although they were chased hard by the International 14 of Nick Clibborn/Matt Cox and Ian and Rosie Parker in their Merlin. Behind the OKs, on handicap, it would be the beautifully restored Albacore of Chris and Lois Barlow that would take third place.

After a break for lunch and the application of some much needed sunscreen, the fleet started Race 2 with the wind still light but holding the promise of a fresher sea breeze. The new wind never materialised but this did not worry the OKs, as again Rollinson won from Budden. A short third Race was again an OK benefit, giving Rollinson 3 straight wins.

Sunday saw the Classic dinghies being joined by the club’s normal racing fleet, though yet again it was the leading trio of Rollinson, Barlow and Budden out front. These three were able to hold off all comers in a full length Pursuit Race, despite a late charge by Netley’s RS700s and A Class Cats that had closed to within a short leg of taking the lead, when the time ran out.

Overall Results:

Pos Boat Type Sail No Boat Name Helm Crew Club Pts
1st OK 1944 David Rollinson Bowmoor 3
2nd OK 1958 Stu Budden Bristol Corinthian 6
3rd Albacore 1576 Chris Barlow Lois Barlow Shearwater SC 8
4th Merlin Rocket 36 Terrapin John Gardiner Lyn Gardiner Shearwater 12

Netley 2007 results