Pegasus Nationals 99

Hey it was fun.......Where were you?


28th - 30th August over the Bank Holiday weekend provided excellent racing weather for the Pegasus National Championship, run as part of the Classic & Vintage Racing Dinghy Association's Regatta at Roadford Lake in Devon.

The first of the three races held on Sunday saw Andy Hayes & Alison McGregor take a commanding lead to victory in No. 48. The second race started with a tacking duel up the first beat between Andy Hayes & Alison McGregor in No 48 and Dave Lee & Ian Smith in No 81, Andy eventually broke through the overlap to go clear. A similar scrap was going on for third place behind.

The third race began with all boats clear on the line but No 81 squeezed out No 48 at the committee boat end forcing Andy Hayes to throw a quick 360* turn around. This resulted in a close match for the first four boats to get to the windward mark.

Andy and Alison worked their way through the fleet to commence chase with Dave Lee & Ian Smith who put up a very hard fight until Andy & Alison broke through on the downwind leg in a gybing duel to take first place again. A battle ensured for third place between Matthew McCann & Matthew Buckle in No:178 and Dave McKay & Kevin Needham in No:192.

Monday dawned warm and sunny with a 180* reversal in the wind direction blowing from the head of the lake. This produced some violent wind shifts. The start of the fourth race saw No 81 get a clear start ahead of the fleet, with No: 178 over the line. Andy Hayes quickly gave chase using a lifting gust of wind to give chase to No 81, only to nearly capsize to windward with the crew on the wire as the gust rapidly died and headed viciously, much to the amusement of everyone around. With better boat speed No 48 overhauled the fleet and the leading boat No 81 to take the lead for the fourth time.

Citrine wins the nats


The final race saw a poor and misjudged start by most of the fleet. (some comment being made afterwards about timing) but Andy Hayes got away clear from the start to win the race without threat to conclude the championship with 5 straight wins. Dave Lee & Ian Smith can a very close second, with Dave McKay & Kevin Needham getting a very creditable third despite a broken tiller extension in the final race.




Andy Hayes & Alison McGregor

No 48

3 ¾ Points


Dave Lee & Ian Smith

No 81

10 Points


Dave McKay & Kevin Needham

No 192

18 Points


Matthew McCann & Matthew Buckle

No 178

19 Points


Dave Hayes & Heather Wyatt

No 210

25 Points


Well done all.....and here's to next year!

Any further questions - please e-mail Andy Hayes