Shearwater Sailing Club hosted its first ever Classic and Vintage Racing Dinghy Association Regatta over the weekend of the May 10-11.

Eighteen boats took part in the event, which is intended for boats over 25 years old. Twelve Shearwater members raced their boats and were joined by six visiting boats. The weekend started with a practise race to familiarise the visitors with the lake and which Colin Singer, in a GP14 won.

The winds were from the northeast for the first serious race of the series, which created challenging conditions for visitors and members alike. The race was won by visitor Rupert Whelan in his Firefly, from local sailor Roger Devereux,s GP14, with Steve Winter third in another Firefly.

The wind filled in for the second race giving some of the faster boats a chance. Nick Clibborn managed to open a good lead in his Finn, followed by John Gardiner in a Merlin Rocket, but in the end their lead was not big enough to beat Whelan on Handicap and they were pushed back to second and third.

Sunday started with a pursuit race and Rupert Whelan was out to clinch the four race series with a third win, but a damaged rudder forced his retirement. This allowed Enterprise sailor Chris Carter to take the win followed by the GP14s of Roger Devereux and Colin Newton.

In the final race John Gardner led the way in the Merlin Rocket, but he was unable to escape form Whelan, who held second place on the water for the whole race and eventually took the win on Handicap, from Colin Newton, with Gardner relegated again to third.

The result gave Rupert Whelan a clear win in the series, in a weekend enjoyed by visitors, local sailors and spectators alike.

Overall Results:

Pos Helm Boat Type
1st Rupert Whelan Firefly
2nd Roger Devereux GP14
3rd Nick Clibborn Finn
1st “Old” boat Alan Price OK
1st “Classic” boat Colin Newton GP14
1st “Vintage” boat Chris Barlow National 12
Sunday’s RNLI Visitors Prize John Gardiner Merlin Rocket

Shearwater 2003 results